Эта статья по-русски:

 Lands of the Glusk region occupy the southwest part of the Mogilev oblast within the Central Berezina Plain and the Pripyat Polesye, all in all, 1,336 square kilometres. In the region there are 18,500 residents, with 10,700 people living in 106 rural communities of nine rural councils. The town of Glusk populated by 7,800 people is the administrative centre of the region.

he region borders on the Oktyabr region of the Gomel oblast, Lyuban and Staryye Dorogi regions of the Minsk oblast, and Bobruisk and Osipovichi regions of the Mogilev oblast.

 The climate is moderately continental. The average temperature in January stands at minus 6.9C, July — plus 18.1C. The cropping season lasts 192 days, the average precipitation makes 540 mm per annum. In the region there are rivers Ptich, Zarudecha, Dokolka, Lisa, Bezhitsa. Lakes Vygoda and Dikoye are the largest ones.

Mineral resources: peat, potassium salts, sapropels, sands. Industrial oil extraction since 1980.

 Nature has ever been a precious store for the Glusk land. The land of forests, picturesque landscapes, flowery meadows, mushrooms and berries, it enjoys the well-deserved love of the local residents and multiple visitors.

 Forests occupy 53% of the region or 71.4 thousand hectares. Coniferous, foliaceous, and hard-leaved forests are prevailing.

 Using the unique natural beauty and ecological conditions, the oblast children’s centre for medical rehabilitation Kosmos, a recreation centre Gorodok, a sanatorium Ptich, a boarding home for disabled children with special psychophysical needs offer their services.

The oldest archaeological monuments date back to the stone age (4-3 thousand years BC), bronze age (2-1 thousand years BC), and iron age (1 thousand years BC— 1 thousand years AD). The time of the chronicled tribes of Slavonic Dregovichs (IX-XIII centuries AD) is represented by settlements and mounds.

 Since the XIV century the Glusk land has been part of the Glusk province own by the grand duke of Lithuania. The contemporary village of Gorodok located at the junction of the River Krasnaya and the River Ptich, was the centre of the province, which encompassed not only the Glusk lands, but adjacent territories such the town of Staryye Dorogi.

 In 1396 Prince Vitovt presented the Glusk province to his Kyiv vicegerent Prince Ivan Golshanky, who in turn left the province to his heirs. The year is regarded as the year of Glusk’s foundation.

 The Middle Age Glusk history is inseparable from the history of the castle founded by the same Yuri Dubrovitsky in the early XVI century.

 According to historical records the castle had an earth defensive rampart with wooden walls, two wooden towers, an entrance tower with a drawbridge and a small gate leading to the Ptich.

 September 14, 1812 saw a battle between Polish troops and a regiment led by Russian general F.F. Ertel. Glusk was liberated for some time, with the commandant and over 100 soldiers captured. The achievement meant a lot for aiding the besieged Bobruisk fortress.

 In the XIX century Glusk was a small town with the residents mainly working in agriculture and processing of local raw materials, timber processing, alcohol distillation, and leatherworking.

 Soviet authority was enforced in Glusk in January 1918.

On June 27, 1941, the fifth day of the Great Patriotic War, Glusk was captured by the Nazi. The land was deep in the rear of the army group Centre. July 1941 witnessed intense battles of the 24th Samara-Ulyanovsk Iron Division. A cavalry taskforce of the 32nd cavalry division liberated Glusk as part of a rear raid on July 24. The garrison was defeated but the cavalry had to retreat on July 27 waging intense battles.

 Six and a half thousand Glusk residents selflessly joined the armed fight against the Nazis. Day and night the flame of the nation-wide fight roared. There were 11 guerrilla regiments uniting over 1,200 fighters in the Glusk region.

 We remember well the dauntless courage and heroism of people’s avengers, we are proud of the battle deeds of guerrilla parties, brigades led by Vladimir Kirillovich Yakovenko, Aleksei Vasilyevich Lvov, Ustin Nikitich Shvayakov, Vladimir Timofeyevich Shantar, Pavel Mikhailovich Yunevich, Nikolai Borisovich Khrapko, Matvei Petrovich Sezik, Georgy Nikolayevich Stolyarov, Dmitry Timofeyevich Gulyayev and many others.

In battles 4,725 Glusk land people perished as well as 3,126 civilians, 1,482 people were forced to work as slaves in Germany. The villages of Parshchakha, Osy, Kolesy, Belyye, Mosty, Tolstyi Les were burnt down like Khatyn was.

 The Glusk region was liberated on June 28, 1944 as part of the Bobruisk operation. Deeds of Glusk people during the Great Patriotic War are immortalised by the Military Glory Memorial. 119 monuments and obelisks stand as a symbol of uneclipsed glory.

 A fruit and vegetable factory was built in 1956, a musical school — in 1960, a dairy and a furniture factory — in 1960.

 Industrial oil extraction began in the 1980s, a cinema Orion was built as well as a new hospital and a clinic, a residential district in Gagarin Street.

 In the region there are two museums of labour glory and military glory in the villages of Katka and Zavolochitsy, the Bread Museum in the town of Glusk, two historical and cultural monument — St Cosmo-Damian Church in the village of Gorodok (1814) and the Glusk citadel, 26 archaeological monuments, 75 military graves (two of them date back to the Civil War, 71— the Great Patriotic War, 2 — internationalist warriors).

Glusk regional executive committee. Official site.